We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Thousand Birds in the Earth, The Thousand Birds in the Sky

by Andrew Weathers Ensemble



Full Spectrum Records is pleased to present the FINAL release from the Andrew Weathers Ensemble. After 10 years and 5 albums, this is the project’s final capstone: 4 tracks, just under 41 minutes in running time.

All of the AWE hallmarks are on display – the sweeping arrangements, friscalating vibes and layered vocal treatments. His friends and collaborators all feature heavily, too. This is prime Ensemble territory, in every sense.

Weathers conceived most of these songs in his head while driving long stretches of empty road in West Texas, a bleak and often bizarre region that he has come to regard as “home” in the years since the first Ensemble recordings were released via Sleep On The Floor [way back in 2011]. Whenever he’d arrive at a destination, he’d take a moment to frantically write down whatever musical figure had been caught up in his brain and start to work out the parts.

It is perhaps fitting that he wrote more lyrics for this release than in the past, where he might have preferred to mine old folk songs or the IWW's Little Red Songbook. The rolling, arid desert of his newfound home has proven a fitting canvas for what he terms a “Deep Map of Self-psychogeography,” blending imaginary and real landscapes into an evocative whole that is at once both welcoming and strangely alien. The end result is one of Weathers’ most personal musical statements to date.

We hate to see this project go, but we know that it’s all in the service of illuminating new sonic terrain and nursing a spark for previously uncharted collaborations. So, join us in raising a glass to one hell of a run.


released August 3, 2020

AW: electric guitar, synthesizer, drum machine, piano, percussion, electric piano, voice
CJ Boyd: electric bass, upright bass
Austin Glover: alto saxophone, piano, violin
Luke Gullickson: electric piano
Adam Hirsch: alto saxophone
Lindsay Keast: flute
mari maurice: violin, viola, alto saxophone
Arjun Mendiratta: violin
David Menestres: upright bass
Aaron Oppenheim: mel’ordion, electric bass
Eric Perreault: cello
claire rousay: percussion
Erik Schoster: Pippi Computer
Scott Siler: drums, vibraphone, percussion
Rin Smith: crystals
Shanna Sordahl: cello
CC Sorensen: piano
Blaine Todd: ebow guitar
Lindsey Verrill: upright bass, banjo

Recorded June 2018 - June 2019 at:

Ancient Owl Audio, Berkeley, CA, occupied Chochenyo Ohlone land, engineered by Ryan Jobes

Sacred Heart, Oakland, CA, occupied Chochenyo Ohlone land, engineered by Adam Hirsch

Wind Tide, Littlefield, TX, occupied Comanche land

Weathers Household, Chapel Hill, NC, occupied Eno, Catawba, & Shakori land

Nightsound Studios, Carrboro, NC, occupied Eno, Catawba, & Shakori land, engineered by David Barrett

mari’s House, Austin, TX, occupied Tonkawa & Comanche land

Hackberry House, Austin, TX, occupied Tonkawa & Comanche land

Lockaway, San Antonio, TX, occupied Tonkawa land

Field Recording from Blackwater Draw Site, Portales, NM, occupied Kiowa, Comanche, Mescalero Apache, & Jumanos land

Lyrics by AW except for the first verse of ReWild Your Friends, which was written on a wall at Howard Finster’s Paradise Gardens, Summerville, GA, occupied Cherokee land

Mixed by Steve Ditore and Andrew Weathers at Jack Straw Cultural Center, Seattle, WA, occupied Coast Salish land

Production made possible through the Artist Residency Programs at Jack Straw Cultural Center

Mastered by Angel Hair Audio

Artwork by Gretchen Korsmo



all rights reserved



Full Spectrum Records Littlefield, Texas

Full Spectrum Records releases the works of experimental musicians and sound artists, with an ear towards idiosyncratic tones, extended time frames and unique compositional approaches.


contact / help

Contact Full Spectrum Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Thousand Birds in the Earth, The Thousand Birds in the Sky, you may also like: